Cubs vs Cards 6/26-6/28

CSF77

Liked Posts:
Fuck the cardinals.......

Need TOR pitching. Stop throwing processed shit against the wall, Theo.

Spend and get the guy this winter or by trade. Division is wide open right now.

"We know we have to add starting depth," Hoyer said. "We'll see where we are as we get closer to the Deadline. You can't make someone available. That's why I think it'll be a Deadline where we have to try to be creative and think through different avenues."
When Spring Training began, the Cubs felt they had plenty of depth, counting Eric Jokisch, Dallas Beeler, Felix Doubront and Jacob Turner as options. But Jokisch and Beeler have battled injuries this season, Turner is on the 60-day disabled list and recently had a setback, and Doubront was released.
It also didn't help that Kyle Hendricks went five innings on Wednesday and Jon Lester lasted four innings on Thursday. The short outings have put a burden on the bullpen.
"We need to get more length [from the starters]," Hoyer said. "The quality the last few days -- except for Jake [Arrieta on Friday] -- hasn't been there."
Did the Cubs not prepare enough this offseason?
"Was it a miscalculation? I guess you could say it was," Hoyer said. "Turner was hurt, Beeler and Jokisch at different times have been hurt, [Minor Leaguer Pierce] Johnson's been hurt. It's taken away from an area that we thought would have some depth."
The past three seasons, the Cubs have been sellers at the Trade Deadline. This year, they could be buyers.
"As much as we're building for the future, you don't know what's going to happen in the future; you know what's going to happen now," Hoyer said. "You don't want to do anything that you'll look back on and say was hasty, but you don't only want to look to the future and ignore that this has been a fun season with a lot of positives and can we improve some of the weaknesses we have to keep that going."