The NHL announced its finalists for the Selke Trophy award Wednesday morning to be Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron, Red Wings’ Pavel Datsyuk, and Blackhawks’ Jonathan Toews.

The Selke Trophy is awarded to “the forward who excels best in the defensive aspects of the game.”

Toews ended the season as a plus-28 with 20 goals, the only member of the Blackhawks to break 20 in each category. He ranked 7th in the league in total faceoffs taken, but second in faceoff win percentage with 59.9 percent. Toews averaged 19:20 minutes of ice time per game during the regular season and registered 5 game-winning goals for the Blackhawks.

Toews was nominated for the award in 2011, falling short of Vancouver’s Ryan Kesler for the title.

If Toews wins, he will join fellow Blackhawks Dirk Graham (1991) and Troy Murray (1986) as Chicago recipients of the Selke Trophy.

The winner will be announced at the NHL Awards following the wrap-up of the Stanley Cup Playoffs this summer.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *