The Big Ten announced today that four Big Ten players are on the watch list for the Ted Hendricks award. The award is given out at the end of the season to the nation’s most outstanding defensive end.

Only two times has the award been given to a Big Ten player, Michigan’s Lamarr Woodley (2006) and Illinois’ Whitney Mercilus (2011). This season Michigan State’s Shilique Calhoun, Michigan’s Frank Clark, Nebraska’s Randy Gregory and Ohio State’s Joey Bosa will try to join the ranks of Woodley and Mercilus as the third player from the Big Ten to accept this award.

Shilique Calhoun was a finalist last season for the award and is a heavy favorite to win the award this season. I recently ranked Calhoun number one in my, “10 Key Big Ten Players Heading Into 2014″ column. He was the 2013 Defensive Lineman of the Year and a second team All-American.

All four guys are very talented players and I believe come award season the NCAA will be presenting the Ted Hendricks award to the Big Ten.

Featured image from RantSports

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *