BWAA announce HOF ballot

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced their 2015 Hall of Fame ballot, which includes 17 first-time players and 17 hangover players.

Looking at the ballot, there are A LOT of  first-year stars on the ballot, including Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and John Smoltz. This does not include the holdover of players like Craig Biggio, Jeff Bagwell, Mike Piazza, among others.

This could be a big class for the BWAA, who in 2013 did not elect anyone.

With the logjam of players on the ballot, there are going to be a ton of players who drop on the list because of the number of great players. Besides the steroid linked players who will unlikely get elected, players like Fred McGriff, Tim Raines, Mike Mussina, Lee Smith, Carlos Delgado, Nomar Garciaparra, just to name a few, will have a tall task of getting elected this year. Let alone the next five.

You can see the full list here.

Let the arguments begin.

One thought on “BWAA announce HOF ballot

  • November 25, 2014 at 1:08 PM

    It’s holdover, not hangover.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *