IceHogs Lose to Marlies 3-1

The IceHogs closed out their regular season play last night with a bit of a whimper. Losing to the Toronto Marlies 3-1. Entering last night’s game, the Hogs had a chance to clinch the Midwest Division Title and possibly clinch the Western Conference Title. But those chances disappeared quickly as the game progressed. With the Hog’s best players listed as “healthy scratches”, the remaining game roster was a group that couldn’t seem to find the right, let alone, any rhythm. The Hogs’ lone goal was scored with a mere 6 seconds left in the game by Tanner Kero.

Fans did get to see two former IceHogs return to the BMO since their trades to Toronto. TJ Brennan and Byron Froese. Brennan can be seen in the photos below chatting with Michael Leighton prior a face-off in the 3rd period.

The IceHogs handed out their year end Team Awards last night in a pre-game ceremony. Blackhawks General Manager of Minor League Affiliations presented the awards. Winning awards was: Rookie of the Year – Ville Pokka, Defenseman of the Year – Kyle Cumiskey, Most Imporved Player – Phillip Danault, Unsung Hero – Peter Regin, Hard Hitter – Cody Bass, Man of the Year – Zach Miskovic, and the Team’s MVP was Michael Leighton.

The IceHogs head now into the AHL Playoffs and are scheduled to head-off against the Texas Stars for games 1 & 2, in Texas, on April 24th & 25th. They will return to Rockford to play game 3 on April 29th and if necessary, games 4 & 5 on May 1 & 2nd. AHL Playoff first round format is best of 5 games.

8V8A0865 8V8A0866 8V8A0876 8V8A0888 8V8A0902 8V8A0904-2 8V8A0915 8V8A0937 8V8A0942 8V8A0963 8V8A0971 8V8A1017 8V8A1046 8V8A1054 8V8A1059 8V8A1091 8V8A1146 8V8A1174 8V8A1187 8V8A1194 8V8A1223 8V8A1274 8V8A1286 8V8A1325 8V8A1362 8V8A1372 8V8A1377 8V8A1403 8V8A1410 8V8A1415 8V8A1430 8V8A1447 8V8A1455 8V8A1457

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *