The Rockford IceHogs closed out their regular season with a big bang last night, blasting past the Milwaukee Admirals 7-1. From the very first face-off until the very last buzzer, the IceHogs never let up off the gas. It was also another stellar night in net for Mac Carruth, stopping 26 out of 27 SOG and earned himself another #1 Star of the Night honor.

The first period saw goals scored by Vinnie Hinostroza, Jonathan Carlsson and Mark McNeill. The lone goal scored in the 2nd frame was by Chris DeSouza. The third period goals were tallied by Ryan Hartman, Mark McNeill and Vinnie Hinostroza. Max Gortz scored Milwaukee’s only goal of the night. #2 Star of the Game was Vinnie Hinostroza and the #3 was Mark McNeill.

The fans and the team were treated to the annual year end video of the team & the IceHogs front office giving their Thank Yous to the fans for all their support during the season. At the end of the video a select group of winning fans were given autographed jerseys from all of the players.

The IceHogs handed out the Team Year End Awards just prior to the game beginning. Award Plaques were presented to the following players: Defenseman of the Year – Ville Pokka; The Heavy Hitter – Mike Liambas; Unsung Hero – Jake Dowell; Most Improved Player – Kirill Gotovets; Rookie of the Year – Vinnie Hinostroza; MVP – Michael Leighton; and Man of the Year – Michael Leighton.

The post season starts next week, with the very first 2 game dates being announced during the game. The IceHogs secured the 3rd spot in the Central Division, therefore gaining the home-ice advantage. The Hogs will face the Lake Erie Monsters in Round One of the AHL Calder Cup Playoffs. Games 1 will be on Wednesday April 20th and Game 2 on Thursday April 21st. Puck drops at 7pm both nights at the BMO Harris Bank Center.

8V8A7400 8V8A7442 8V8A7465 8V8A7533 8V8A7626 8V8A7677 8V8A7684 8V8A7718 8V8A7741 8V8A7829 8V8A7859 8V8A7871 8V8A7932 8V8A7992 8V8A8048 8V8A8098 8V8A8172

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *