Cubs Sign Ben Zobrist

brett05

867-5309
Liked Posts:
I am just not a proponent of the things he did. I called out his strengths and weaknesses.

To say that the organization was in shambles when he left is an understatement. There could have been competitive teams immediately had there been anything to fall back on that was coming up through the ranks, but there wasn't.

The highest ranking positional prospects in that regime were Patterson, Pie, Vitters, and B-Jax. Good Lord! I wanna puke thinking about it.

The best chance at a long run of success was the 2003 team and beyond that was decimated by pitching injuries. The 07' and 08' teams were built for a sprint, and it didn't work, and the results showed as they drastically declined every year after.
Clearly his specs did not work out at the major league level. But that's how specs work. What Theo has gotten so far is miraculous. Theo can be better than Jim, but he's not there yet. Theo is responsible for one of the worst periods in Cubs history. Jim brought the team to the playoffs multiple times with a top minor league system.

Like I said, Theo is on his way, but he's not #1

And I appreciate your comments too. :hi5:

DanTown

Liked Posts:
Theo is responsible for one of the worst periods in Cubs history. Jim brought the team to the playoffs multiple times with a top minor league system.

Let's tackle these two sentiments

1. The reason the Cubs were bad under Theo was that the previous regime (my god, run by Jim Hendry) was almost completely unable to develop talent via the draft/international signings so if the Cubs weren't heavy players in FA or trades for MLB players (which they couldn't do with the lack of home grown talent), they were going to be bad

2. The 07/08 Cubs (who didn't win a playoff game by the way) were almost exclusively FA/trades. There were not many homegrown players on those teams.

brett05

867-5309
Liked Posts:
Let's tackle these two sentiments