Help Us With Our Chicago Fire Research Project!

Schipper_RUG

Liked Posts:
Hey Guys!

I'm a student at the University in the city of Groningen - which you might know because Johan Kappelhof played there for 5 years prior to coming to the Chicago Fire! If not for COVID-19, I would be doing a research project with my group in Chicago right now, but unfortunately, the trip has been cancelled. As this is part of my graduation, the research project is still on, however. For this project, we decided to look at the impact of the recent relocation of the Chicago Fire's stadium. If you have time, we would greatly appreciate it if you took 2 minutes to fill out our survey to help us do this project! There are no real requirements, only that you feel affiliated with the Chicago Fire in any way. The survey is also fully anonymous.

I have you are all safe in these times, and that you will soon be able to attend the Chicago Fire's matches once again!

Kind regards,
Daan Schipper
Student Human Geography at the University of Groningen

Crystallas

Three if by air
Staff member
Donator
Liked Posts:
My favorite teams
  1. Chicago Bulls
You can google whatever, I'll try to sum it up from my memory (which might be way off and everyone can feel free to correct me), and that might help lead you to research more facts.

It started with the World Cup in 94. That's when all of the investors learned whether or not this city would show enough interest in soccer. I was alive when we had the Sting, and NOBODY cared, even though that team was good, that's why it took so long to get soccer going back in Chicago. No World Cup, no Fire.

AEG mocks up the idea to see if people are excited. This time it works, Soldier Field is slated for the US Open, etc. So naturally, they work out deals and investors at AEG are sold, the Chicago Fire is born.