Is Ross the right guy?

gopher72

Liked Posts:
I confess to not knowing the game as well as most on this blog. But I've been intrigued by the hire of Ross, especially given the current slide and the fact that he had no previous managerial experience. I'm unconvinced that just because a guy is a former player on a team and advertised as a guy who could"communicate" with players means he'll make a good manager. Maybe it's premature to question his ability?

Bearcub13

Liked Posts:
It is hard to tell if Ross is the right guy. I have been complaining since 2017 that the Cubs have the wrong mix of players. First, I get Sabermetrics, I understand the old lineup cards have been thrown out. But, if you are going to use Sabermetrics, you have to have the right players. The Cubs have too many strike outs in their lineup to be successful against good pitching, period. None of the players are bad players, but if no one is on base ahead of you, and the guy behind you will probably strike out, you will not see a hittable pitch. That is baseball 101, want proof compare the Cubs OBP with the current league numbers. For Sabermetrics to work OBP is essential.

Diehardfan

Liked Posts:
My favorite teams
  1. Chicago Cubs
  1. Chicago Bulls
  1. Chicago Bears
  1. Chicago Blackhawks
All Ross can do is put together a lineup....he doesn't swing at pitches a foot outside or in the dirt. No idea how players not making contact reflects on the manager. Ross has done a real nice job handling a piss poor starting staff and has a bunch of 30ish nobodies doing a great job in the bullpen. Ross is doing his job.

Very rarily is it a manager that holds a team back.

This is not one of those rarities.

Last edited:

SilenceS

Staff member
Donator
Liked Posts: