O.K., Capologists: Here are the numbers. What are your thoughts?

Toast88

Liked Posts:
There are many people here who pretend to be salary cap experts. But we actually do have some very smart people in this group who know the salary cap backwards and frontwards.

Can some of you do a cap breakdown with some deep analysis as we head into next year?

I'll start out with the basic numbers and leave it up to others to analyze. Apologies if I mess any of this up. I admit I'm not a cap expert, and I'm going purely off of OverTheCap numbers.

2022 Salary Cap: $208 million, $25.7 million higher than 2021

Bears players coming off the books this year (not taking re-signings or franchise tags into account at all):

-Allen Robinson: $18M
-Akiem Hicks: $10M
-Jimmy Graham: $5.3M
-Andy Dalton: $5M
-James Daniels: $3M
-Germain Ifedi: $2.7M
-Bilal Nichols: $2.2M
-Tashaun Gipson: $1.8M
-Jakeem Grant: $1.5M
-Jason Peters: $1.5M
-Jesse James: $1.2M
-Pat O'Donnell: $1.1M
-Damien Williams: $1.1M
-Deon Bush: $1M
-Marquise Goodwin: $1M
-Christian Jones: $1M
-Damien Byrd: $1M
-Patrick Scales: $1M
-Elijah Wilkinson: $1M
-Deandre Houston-Carson: $1M
-Alec Ogletree, JP Holtz, Alex Bars, Ryan Nall, Sam Mustipher, etc.: All under $1M

TOTAL: Over $90 million

Most expensive players in 2022:

-Khalil Mack: $30.1M (up from $14.6M)
-Robert Quinn: $17.1M (up from $11.2M)
-Eddie Jackson: $15.1M (up from $5.1M)
-Cody Whitehair: $12.3M (up from $5.2M)
-Eddie Goldman: $11.8M (up from $7.8M)
-Nick Foles: $10.6M (up from $6.6M)
-Roquan Smith: $9.7M (up from $6M)
-Danny Trevathan: $5.9M (up from $5M)
-Tarik Cohen: $5.7M (up from $3.2M)

TOTAL: $118M for your 9 most expensive players. Those 9 players will make $53.3 million more in 2022 than they did this year.

^^^That's 57 percent of your 2022 cap going toward those 9. How many of those guys have been mediocre-to-below-average contributors lately? More than a few, I think.

Dead cap money still being paid out next year:

-Charles Leno: $2.8M