What players do you wish would have stayed a Cub for their career

CubbieBlue

Go Cubs Go!
Liked Posts:
Obviously one of the big ones would be Greg Maddux or Mark Grace. I was irked when both left via free agency, yet I am happy that at least they got there World Series rings. What other Cubs do you wish never would have left Chicago either by trade or free agency?

One player for me was Paul Assenmacher. I loved this guy coming out of the bullpen. One of the better relievers the Cubs had for a few years, then was given to the Yankees for Tuffy Rhodes who came from the Royals in a three team trade.

Doug Glanville is another player who could have been our everyday centerfielder for a long time. I was a little pissed they traded him for Mickey Morandini but I liked Morandini as well. Just shocked they would trade a guy that just came off a .300 season in his first full season.

Doug Dascenzo was another guy I liked having on the Cubs. More because he was an overall nice guy and played hard than for what he did for the Cubs. Got to meet him and talk to him once, so that was kind of cool and he was right up there as one of my favorite players.

I know I kept a lot of bigger names off.

Last edited:

X

When one letter is enough
Donator
CCS Hall of Fame '20
Liked Posts:
Augie Ojeda...I loved that guy! haha

grammarita

Liked Posts:
Dog Gone