What do you all think of Alshon Jeffery?

Soundwave_Superior

Liked Posts:
He's coming to visit with Halas Hall this week. Sorry if I missed a prior discussion about him, I'm a newbie here.

CHICAGO -- The Chicago Bears will host former South Carolina wideout Alshon Jeffery on an official visit to Halas Hall this week, according to a league source.

Jeffery was considered one of the top receivers in the nation following the 2010 season when he led the Gamecocks with 88 receptions for 1,517 yards and nine touchdowns, which garnered the 6-foot-3 wideout All-American honors.

Source: Bears to host S. Carolina's Jeffery - Chicago Bears Blog - ESPN Chicago

He's got some positives and negatives, like all prospects. Positives are he dominates jump balls and is huge with great hands. Can high-point the ball and get it like (dare I say) Larry Fitzgerald. Similar deep threat as Fitzgerald in that he's not a burner, but he can just jump up and get it over whoever's trying to cover him.

Negatives are that he played last year at around 230 lbs, didn't have the greatest work ethic in school, and he turned some people off at the combine with a somewhat "entitled" attitude.

The Bears have been really talking up DE's and CB's lately in the first round. But it's possible that could all be a smokescreen so they can go after a WR. Emery has put Halas Hall on lockdown with letting information out since he got there...we really don't know what he plans to do.

His play on the field is dominating. But he has some minor character concerns (as most really good WR's do). They brought in Marshall, but he's one strike away from being suspended, and if he leaves, we really only have Bennett. We need more WR's and a contingency plan if he gets suspended.