Blackhawks Lose In OT Again, Trail Phoenix 3-1 In Series

The Coyotes steal Game 4 in Chicago beating the Blackhawks by a final score of 3-2 in overtime giving them a 3-1 series lead heading back to Phoenix for Game 5.

Brandon Bollig and Paul Bissonette dropped the gloves just 5:24 into the first period trying to add some spark to both teams early. After the fight ended, Bissonette was handed a game misconduct for a jersey violation because his sweater wasn’t properly strapped onto his pants.

The Blackhawks had many opportunities to take some kind of a lead as they outshot Phoenix 23-10 in the first 40 minutes of play, but the score remained 0-0.

Just over 7 minutes into the third period, Shane Doan forced a turnover on Johnny Oduya as he was attempting to exit his own zone and ultimately led to Doan netting the first goal of the game and his first of the series giving the Coyotes a 1-0 lead.

44 seconds later, Taylor Pyatt extended the Coyotes margin when he received a nice feed from Antoine Vermette and buried his second goal of the series.

But the Blackhawks refused to go away again. Brendan Morrison, who was in the lineup for a scratched Jamal Mayers, cut the lead in half when he slapped a shot that deflected off of Rostislav Klesla’s stick and in past Mike Smith’s left shoulder.

Another dramatic final minutes in regulation. Dave Bolland danced around a couple defenseman and backhanded a shot to the net. Mike Smith let up a juicy rebound that tricked right inside the blue paint where Michael Frolik was in the right place at the right time tapping home the game-tying goal sending the game into overtime for the fourth consecutive meeting.

It didn’t take long for this one to be decided. For the second straight game, Mikkel Boedker was the overtime hero muscling a one-handed shot on a breakaway that slipped under Corey Crawford’s pads and into the back of the net.

Here’s a fun fact that should give Blackhawks fans some optimism: Phoenix Coyotes have never won a playoff series when leading 3-1. They’ve lost all 3 times in 1990, 1992, and 199.

The Coyotes lead the series 3-1. Game 5 will be on Saturday in Phoenix; puck drop at 9:00pm CT!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *