Chicago athletes nominated for ESPY awards

The ESPY award nominations have officially been released and three Chicago athletes have been nominated.  The ESPY’s will aired live on July 16th at 8 p.m. CST on ESPN, and hosted by musical artist Drake.


Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

The Captain is nominated for best NHL player and is going up against some tough competition. My guess is that Sidney Crosby wins the award, seeing that he won his second MVP trophy yesterday. It’s all good. Just keep lifting the one trophy that matters Toews.


Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
Blake Griffin, LA Clippers
LeBron James, Miami Heat
Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls

Noah probably has no chance of winning the award, but it’s nice to see a Bulls player nominated for the award. Derrick Rose was nominated in 2011 but lost to NBA Champion Dirk Nowitzki.


Tim Cahill, New York Red Bulls
Marco Di Vaio, Montreal Impact
Robbie Keane, LA Galaxy
Mike Magee, Chicago Fire

Ahh, the one award I think a Chicago athlete will win. Magee is the reigning MVP of the MLS and probably the favorite to win the award. Toews has a good chance to win Best NHL Player, but Magee should save Chicago from being shutout. When’s the last time you’ve praised an MLS player in Chicago?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *