No Players Elected into Baseball Hall

Former Cub Sammy Sosa received few votes during the Hall of Fame voting (Denver Post)

The Baseball Writers did not elect any players into the baseball Hall of Fame for the first time since 1996 (75% majority needed). Craig Biggio (68.2%) and Jack Morris (67.7%) were the only players close to being elected. Recent retirees Jeff Bagwell (59.6%) and Mike Piazza had good showings in the polls. Although many Chicago Tribune writers voted in Tim Raines, he finished with only 52.2% of the votes.

None of the alleged steroid users did not receive over 40% of votes; Roger Clemens (37.6%), Barry Bonds (36.2%), Mark McGwire (16.9%), Sammy Sosa (12.5%), and Rafael Palmeiro (8.8%) will be eligible again next year (due to receiving over 5% of votes).  Players that did not make the 5% cut include Bernie Williams (3.3%) and Kenny Lofton (3.2%).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *